Grads receive $14,000 in commencement awards

Hillsboro High School graduating seniors received nearly $14,000 in scholarship money as well as numerous certificates of achievement during their May 21 commencement ceremony.

More than half of scholarship money went to Emily Bebermeyer and Clinton Schneider, who each received $3,750 toward college expenses by being selected for the Wiebe Scholarship Award established by HHS alumni John A. and XXXXX Wiebe.

The other finalists for that award were Peter Fast, Danielle Hagen, Robert Jost, Greta Kliewer, Meredith Kliewer, Kyle Kroeker, Laura Lindsay, Justin Moore, Carrie Schroeder, Laura Skiles, Jennifer Terrell and Katelin Unruh.

The remaining academic and scholarship recipients follow.

* * *

Salutatorian: Meredith Kliewer.

Valedictorians: Robert Jost, Clinton Schneider.

President’s Award for Education Excellence (3.5 GPA, 85 percentile on ACT test in reading or math): Andrew Bina, Josh Boese, Daniel Bookless, Macy Fadenrecht, Peter Fast, Timothy Funk, Danielle Hagen, Susanna Janzen, Robert Jost, Jessica Kelly, Greta Kliewer, Meredith Kliewer, Kyle Kroeker, Victor Rodgers, Clinton Schneider, Carrie Schroeder, Hannah Shope, Jennifer Terrell.

Dale Dennis Excellence in Education Award (citizenship, service, scholarship, common sense): Josh Boese ($100).

USD 410 Education Association: Justin Moore ($300).

Cargill Community Scholarship (through National FFA Foundation; for ag education, leadership skills, career potential): Katelin Unruh, $1,000.

Distinguished State Scholars (Kansas Board of Regents for meeting curriculum requirements, ACT test score, GPA): Josh Boese, Peter Fast, Suzanna Janzen, Robert Jost, Greta Kliewer, Kyle Kroeker, Victor Rogers, Clinton Schneider, Carrie Schroeder.

Kansas ACT Scholar (State Dept. of Education and Board of Regents for 32 or better out of 36 possible on ACT test): Robert Jost.

Board of Regents Certificate of Recognition (completed recommended curriculum): Josh Boese, Daniel Bookless, Peter Fast, Susanna Janzen, Robert Jost, Jessica Kelly, Greta Kliewer, Kyle Kroeker, Victor Rogers, Clinton Schneider, Carrie Schroeder, Laura Skiles.

Outstanding Math & Science Award (K-State engineering): Robert Jost.

American Legion Post 366, American Legion Auxiliary, Sons of the American Legion: Ricky Johnson, Tiffany Knaak, Josh Funk ($250).

Hillsboro Community Medical Center Scholarship (interest in rural health, scholastic ability): Jessica Kelly ($500).

Hillsboro Evening Lions Club (GPA, activities, need): Jennifer Terrell, Victor Rogers ($500).

Hillsboro Evening Lions Club-Don Harding Scholarship: Meredith Kliewer ($500).

Paul Rundstrom Memorial Scholarship, Hillsboro Municipal Golf Assoc. (senior golfer): Andrew Bina ($250).

C.M. Sextro Academic Scholarship for Mathematics: Peter Fast ($1,250).

Citizenship Awards: Laura Lindsay, Justin Moore ($250).

Lady Auxiliary of Veterans of Foreign Wars, Marion Post 6958, “Voice of Democracy” essay contest: Carrie Schroeder ($100).

More from article archives
This graduate is a Lucky Duck
ORIGINALLY WRITTEN PHOTO BY LISA MAYFIELD Jacob Andrew Jost received his diploma...
Read More