Goessel, Hillsboro among area schools with students in KMEA honor groups

Area schools will send several students to participate in the Kansas Music Educator Association honor groups this weekend at Century II in Wichita.

Goessel junior Janessa Wedel was selected as fifth-chair clarinet player for the KMEA state-wide honor band, while senior Kyle Unruh was selected as the first-chair trumpet player in the state-wide honor orchestra. Unruh was selected for the third consecutive year and will receive a gold KMEA medallion for this achievement.

Goessel students selected for the state honor choir were juniors Kory Hiebert and Nathan Amstutz.

Hillsboro students Darren Enns, Aaron Stepanek, Michael Suderman, Tyler Suderman and David Vogel also will participate in the honor choir.

The band and choir will perform at 3 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 25, in the Convention Center.

Hillsboro’s Thad Holmes is a member of the middle-level honor choir, which will perform at 4 p.m. Friday, Feb. 24, in the Mary Jane Teall Theatre. Ten Goessel students will perform in the 160-voice all-state middle-level chorus at 4:40 p.m. Feb. 24, in the MJT Theatre. They are Amy Brubaker, Laura Unruh, Chrystiana Voth, Austin Unruh, Neal Brubaker, Caleb Makovec, Evan Hiebert, Bryant Miller, Andrew DeFreese and Weston Hiebert.

Ten Goessel students were also chosen to perform in the 200-voice all-state KCDA honor choir at 5:40 p.m. Feb. 24 in the concert hall. They are Rinda Duerksen, Kristin Unruh, Aspen Fry, Sierra Dirksen, Jamie Spoonemore, Jessica Goertzen, Samantha Hines, Michelle Unruh, Braden Unruh and Aimee Flaming.

More from article archives
Trojans crush Wildcats, 48-6, to go 2-0 for 2006
ORIGINALLY WRITTEN DR Two games, two blowouts. Hillsboro turned in a near...
Read More