Area pair wins Rundstrom tourney

The 28th annual Hillsboro Rundstrom Two-person Best Ball Golf Tournament was held Sunday at the Hillsboro Municipal Golf Course.

Doug Dick of Hillsboro and Tim Young of Marion combined for a 61 to win the championship flight of the 18-hole event.

Finishing in second were Brad Sherard and Dick Edwards of Wichita with a 62. Third place went to Brent See and Shane Bruce of McPherson with a 66. Fourth place went to Dan Bruch and Todd Dreisner of Emporia with a 67.

Winning the first flight in a playoff were Ed Thiessen of Hesston) and Jim Lewis of Buhler with a 70; second place went to Ken Johnson and Pat Bartel of Hillsboro; third place was captured in a playoff by Aaron Hett and Nickolas Hett of Marion with a 71; and fourth place went to Mike Hill and John Conway of Emporia with a 71.

Taking top honors in the second flight by virtue of a playoff were Joe Jennings and Ron Coates of Hillsboro with a 77. Second place went to Phil Thiessen and Anthony Thiessen of Hillsboro. Third place was won by Carl and Jane Long of Hillsboro with a 79. Fourth place went to Clint Seibel and Max Terman of Hillsboro with an 80.

Shane Bruce of McPherson captured the prize for the longest putt; Brent See of McPherson had the longest drive; Jerry Guthrie of Emporia hit the straightest drive; and Aaron Hett hit a ball closest to the pin.

More from article archives
Tabor sweeps Kansas Wesleyan Feb. 9
ORIGINALLY WRITTEN DR The Tabor College men stayed in the thick of...
Read More