Eight Trojans earn all-league recognition by MCAA coaches

Four members of the Hillsboro boys’ and girls’ basketball teams received all-league recognition this week by the Mid-Central Activities Association coaches.

For the boys, Eric Weinbrenner was the only member of the league champion Trojans to be named to the first team. Derek Hamm was picked for the second team while Daniel Deckert and Kyle Kroeker received honorable mention.

Weinbrenner, a 5-foot, 10-inch senior point guard, averaged 10.9 points, 4.1 assists, 3.0 steals and only 2.1 turnovers per game for the 21-2 Trojans. He shot 33 percent from the floor and 73 percent from the free-throw line.

Classmate Derek Hamm, a 6-5 post player, was picked for the second team. He matched Weinbrenner’s scoring output at 10.9 points and chipped in 1.8 steals, 2.5 assists and 5.9 rebounds per game. He shot 55.4 percent from the floor and 75 percent of his free throws.

Deckert, a 6-3 senior forward, averaged 9.2 points, 1.7 steals, 2.3 assists and 4.8 rebounds. He made 49.7 percent of shots from the floor, including a team-high 40.9 percent from behind the arc (9-22). He shot 69.4 percent at the line.

Kroeker, a 5-11 guard, broke into the starting lineup early in the season and went on to average 10.1 points a game on 47.8 percent shooting from the floor, including 35.9 percent from behind the arc (28-78).

Four of the seven players selected for the MCAA first team were unanimous picks: Blaine Clark, a junior from Lyons; Justin Regehr, a junior from Halstead; Marcus Wells, a senior from Haven, and Chris Harper, a freshman from Wichita Collegiate.

For the girls, Hillsboro sophomore JuliAnne Chisholm was one of five unanimous picks. Joining her were: Jade Pihl, a senior from Smoky Valley; Ashley Bell, a junior from Collegiate; Andrea Leiker, a senior from Lyons, and Kristin Frey, a senior from Hesston.

Chisholm, a 5-10 forward, led the 15-8 Trojans in scoring (12.7), field-goal shooting (53.5 percent), steals (3.1) and rebounding (7.3). She also contributed 2.8 assists per game and shot 50 percent from the line.

Marsh, a second-team selection, shot nearly 41 percent from the field on the way to averaging 10.9 points.

The 5-6 sophomore guard made 35.2 percent of her 3-point shots (37-105) and shot 70.3 percent from the line. Marsh led the team in steals (3.0) and assists (3.1).

The Trojans’ two senior starters, Amy Duerksen and Emily Ratzlaff, received honorable mention.

Duerksen, a 5-8 forward, averaged 7.2 points, 0.9 steals, 1.0 assists and 5.8 rebounds per game. She shot 38.5 percent from the floor and 68.8 percent from the line.

Ratzlaff, a 5-6 guard, chipped in 5.8 points, 1.6 steals, 2.8 assists and 3.0 rebounds per game. She shot 21.8 from the field and 61.8 percent from the line.

2005 All-MCAA selections


First team: *Blaine Clark, jr., Lyons; Justin *Regehr, jr., Halstead; *Marcus Wells, sr., Haven; *Chris Harper, fr., Wichita Collegiate; Justin Holcom, so., Smoky Valley; Grady Pauls, sr., Hesston; Eric Weinbrenner, sr., Hillsboro.

Second team: Kyle Hubele, sr., Smoky Valley; Kevin Sechrist, jr., Lyons; Dale Vogel, sr., Marion; Ben Drake, sr., Haven; Tyler Swartzendruber, sr., Hesston; Derek Hamm, sr., Hillsboro; Jeff Steinert, sr., Ellinwood.

Honorable mention: Shannon Christians, sr., Smoky Valley; Matt Hodges, sr., Smoky Valley; Shawn Sullivan, jr., Nickerson; Cameron Simms, jr., Lyons; Austin Ratzlaff, so., Halstead; Brent Stutzman, sr., Haven; Kole Farney, sr., Sterling; Derrick Klassen, sr., Hesston; Daniel Deckert, sr., Hillsboro; Kyle Kroeker, jr., Hillsboro; Adam Bakri, Wichita Collegiate, sr.; Vic Johnson, jr., Wichita Collegiate; Trevor Bieberle, jr., Hoisington.


First team: *Jade Pihl, sr., Smoky Valley; *Ashley Bell, jr., Wichita Collegiate; *JuliAnne Chisholm, so., Hillsboro; *Andrea Leiker, sr., Lyons; *Kristin Frey, sr., Hesston. Liz Wray, jr., Hesston; Chelsea Malone, jr., Ellinwood.

Second team: Natalie Wheeler, sr., Hesston; Hannah Marsh, so., Hillsboro; Megan Wedel, jr., Halstead; Hillary Stucky, sr., Haven; Julie Richardson, jr., Haven; Brittnee Lawrence, junior, Wichita Collegiate; Jessica Steffan, sr., Lyons.

Honorable mention: Britta Tjaden, jr., Smoky Valley; Megan Steward, sr., Haven; Jordan Bates, sr., Hoisington; Kyra Horesky, so., Hoisington; Katelyn Kaiser, so., Hoisington; Cana Wilson, sr., Wichita Collegiate; April Classen, sr., Wichita Collegiate; Kara Weaver, sr., Hesston; Kimy Morgan, sr., Ellinwood; Amy Duerksen, sr., Hillsboro; Emily Ratzlaff, sr., Hillsboro; Toni Gordon, jr., Marion; Leann Thomas, sr., Marion; Allie Maddox, jr., Marion; Kacy Garnett, jr., Halstead; Ashley Schauf, sr., Cassie Barber, so., Nickerson; Megan Hookstein, sr., Nickerson; McKenzie Kirby, sr., Sterling.

More from article archives
Energized for the future
ORIGINALLY WRITTEN PHOTO BY DON RATZLAFF Mike Schmaderer, project director from Mid-States...
Read More