Hillsboro, Marion well represented on all-MCAA teams

Three members of the Hillsboro Trojan state-qualifying volleyball team and the Marion Warriors team received all-league honors from the coaches of the Mid-Central Activities Association.

For Hillsboro, JuliAnne Chisholm, a 5-feet, 9-inch sophomore middle hitter, was a unanimous pick for the Eastern Division first team.

A pair of seniors, Emily Ratzlaff, a 5-6 outside hitter, and Amy Duerksen, the Trojan’s 5-7 setter, received honorable mention.

Going into state competition, Chisholm led the team in attack kills with 137, dink kills with 18, solo blocks with 84, and served with 91 percent efficiency.

Ratzlaff had 51 kills on the attack and 15 on dinks. She served with 92 percent efficiency and led the team in digs with 175 and serve receive with 163 in 289 attempts (56 percent). She was second in passing with 213.

Duerksen finished with a 95 percent success rate as a setter, with 1,082 sets in 1,142 attempts. She led the team in passing with 243 and served with 86 percent efficiency. She was second in service aces with 37.

The Trojans finished the season 15-18 under first-year coach Sandy Arnold.

Marion also landed three players on the all-league teams. Leann Thomas, a 5-8 senior, was named to the first team, and Amber Richmond, a 5-9 senior, and Megan Hudson, a 5-5 junior, received honorable mention.

The Warriors finished 10-20 under first-year coach Kara Chisholm.

MCAA volleyball all-league

EasterN Division


*Kristen Frey, sr., Hesston; *Liz Wray, jr., Hesston; *JuliAnne Chisholm, so., Hillsboro; *Britta Tjaden, jr., Smoky Valley; *Hayley Jansson, so., Wichita Collegiate; *Kate Healy, jr., Wichita Collegiate; Megan Wedel, jr., Halstead; Natalie Wheeler, sr., Hesston; Leann Thomas, sr., Marion.

Honorable mention

Ashley Espinoza, jr., Halstead; Ashley Schauf, sr., Halstead; Lauren Raleigh, so., Hesston; Emily Ratzlaff, sr., Hillsboro; Amy Duerksen, sr., Hillsboro; Jordan Koch, sr., Smoky Valley; Elizabeth Rawson, sr., Smoky Valley; Amber Richmond, sr., Marion; Megan Hudson, jr., Marion; Hanna Grene, jr., Wichita Collegiate.

WESTERN Division


*Hillary Stucky, sr., Haven; *Andrea Leiker, sr., Lyons; *Kiley Loesch, jr., Lyons; *Lindsay Schinstock, jr., Hoisington; *Jessica Elsen, jr., Ellinwood; *Candice Lacey, sr., Sterling; Shelly Ritter, sr., Hoisington; Lindsae Hertel, jr. Ellinwood.

Honorable mention

Lindsay Herrell, sr., Nickerson; Chelsi Farney, jr., Nickerson; Ashley Dohrman, jr., Nickerson; Whitney Duncan, jr., Haven; Jessica Steffan, sr., Lyons; Kyra Horesky, so. Hoisington; Katelyn Kaiser, so., Hoisington; Jodi Long, sr., Ellinwood; Brook Roach, jr., Sterling; Melanie Errebo, jr., Sterling.

* Unanimous selection

More from article archives
Marion surges ahead with lopsided win Grove
ORIGINALLY WRITTEN TOM STOPPEL Some habits are hard to break, but Marion...
Read More