HHS grads receive honors at graduation

As part of the commencement program for the 51 seniors who graduated May 23 from Hillsboro High School, students were recognized for their accomplishments in the classroom and in student life.

The list of awards that follow identifies the winners, the monetary value of the scholarship when applicable, and the basic criteria for recognition.

* * *

President’s Award for Educational Excellence: Katie Fast, Jared Fish, Danielle Goossen, Aaron Miller. (Established to encourage students to achieve high academic standards; criteria include (1) cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 and (2) scoring at or above the 85 percentile on the ACT in reading and math).

Dale Dennis Excellence in Education Award: Jared Fish. (Established in 1996 by the Kansas School Administrators to honor Dale Dennis’s years of service to Kansas public education.)

USD 410 Education Association: Danielle Johnson, Kyle Jilka. (Recipients are selected by a faculty committee and then approved by the entire association; each scholarship is worth $150.)

Distinguished State Scholars: Katie Fast, Danielle Goossen, Aaron Miller. (Selection based on (1) meeting the Board of Regents requirements, (2) a minimum GPA of 3.87 and (3) an ACT score of at least 29).

Outstanding Math & Science Award: Katie Fast. (The scholarship of $1,000 honors outstanding achievement in math and science; the recipient is chosen by members of the HHS faculty.)

Board of Regents Certificate of Recognition: Toby Berg, Danielle Goossen, Michael Bookless, Aaron Miller, Katie Fast, Daniel Yoder. (For students who have completed the regents’ recommended curriculum: four units of English, three units of math, three units of science, three units of social studies, two units of foreign language.)

“I Dare You Award”: Gina Andrews, Kelsey Kaufman. (Presented jointly by HHS and the American Youth Foundation to two juniors who best display personal integrity, balanced living and motivation for leadership.)

American Legion Post 366, American Legion Auxiliary, Sons of the American Legion Scholarship: Danielle Johnson, Ryan Janzen, Danielle Kelley. ($250 scholarship.)

Hillsboro Community Medical Center Scholarship: Katie Fast. (The $500 scholarship is based on an interest in rural health care, motivation, an essay and the ability to meet scholastic requirements.)

Hillsboro Evening Lions Club: Danielle Kelley, Danielle Johnson. (The $500 scholarship is based on grade-point average, involvement in activities and financial need.)

Alpha Omega Incentive Award: Danielle Johnson. (A $300 scholarship for a girl planning to major in education at an accredited Kansas College.)

C.M. Sextro Academic Scholarship for Mathematics: Katie Fast, $1,000.

Agriculture Future of America: Jared Fish. (The $3,200 scholarship is sponsored by Cooperative Grain & Supply, Midlands Farm Services of Marion and Central National Bank for a student from Marion County who will be pursuing a career in the agriculture-related industry.)

Wiebe Scholarship Award: Jared Fish, Daniel Yoder. Other finalists were Katie Fast, Danielle Goossen, Ryan Janzen, Danielle Johnson, Danielle Kelley, Allison Kunkel, Caleb Marsh. (The $1,500 scholarship recognizes (1) respect for others, particularly elderly citizens, (2) respect for property, especially the property of others, (3) respect for country, state, city and community, (4) patriotism and respect for the U.S. flag, democratic process and free enterprise system, and (5) honesty, dependability, service, leadership, honor and integrity.)

More from article archives
Reimer to celebrate 90th birthday
ORIGINALLY WRITTEN Dora Dalke Reimer will be honored on her 90th birthday...
Read More