Peabody wins MKL swim title, Hillsboro third

The Hillsboro swim team concluded its season Saturday with a third-place finish at the Mid-Kansas Swim League championship in Council Grove.

Peabody won the meet with 331 points, followed by Lindsborg with 315.5 points, Hillsboro with 280.5 points and Marion with 193.5 points.

The following won league titles for Peabody: boys 13-14 medley (2:23.71); girls 15-18 medley (2:20.60); girls 11-12 butterfly, Ann Garcia (41.63); girls 15-18 butterfly, Sarah Williams (31.78); boys 15-18 butterfly, Adam Jones (28.97); boys 9-10 backstroke, Storm Pickens (21.62); girls 15-18 backstroke, Sarah Williams (35.28); boys 15-18 backstroke, Adam Jones (30.47); boys 15-18 breaststroke, Jonathan Foth (33.14); boys 9-10 freestyle, Storm Pickens (15.69); girls 15-18 freestyle, Sarah Williams (28.34); boys 15-18 freestyle, Adam Jones (25.56); girls 15-18 100-yard individual medley, Sarah Williams (1:13.50); boys 15-18 100-yard individual medley, Adam Jones (1:07.78); boys 13-14 freestyle relay (2:04.21); girls 15-18 freestyle relay (2:05.20); girls 15-18 freestyle, Sarah Williams (1:05.82).

Winning league titles for Hillsboro were: boys 15-18 medley relay (2:06.19); boys 9-10 butterfly, Ben Bebermeyer (19.32); girls 11-12 breaststroke, Jet Skiles (46.97); girls 13-14 breaststroke, Chelsea Harmon (38.64); boys 11-12 freestyle, Josh Garrett (31.22); girls 8-under freestyle relay (1:25.41); boys 9-10 freestyle relay (1:10.75); boys 15-18 freestyle relay (1:46.68); boys 9-10 freestyle, Ben Bebermeyer (1:26.81); boys 11-12 freestyle, Josh Garrett (1:13.71); girls 15-18 freestyle, Emily Bebermeyer (1:16.45).

Bringing home league championships for Marion were: boys 9-10 medley relay (1:26.26); boys 15-18 butterfly, Eric Smith (35.88); boys 8-under freestyle relay (1:22.13); and boys 9-10 freestyle- Scott Jones (1:33.62).

The Hillsboro swim team held its annual awards picnic July 10 at Memorial Park and Municipal Swimming Pool and recognized the following swimmers, in their respective age categories, for outstanding contributions.

High-point Awards: Taylor Thiessen, Brandon Rooker, Tara Heinrichs, Ben Bebermeyer, Aby Humber, Josh Garrett, Danielle Hagen, Brantley Hanna, Melanie Sullivan, John Vineski.

Most-Improved Awards: Maddie Duerksen, Jacob Garrett, Bailey McCarty, Chance Reece, Tiffany Rooker, Kyler Hanna, Chelsea Bebermeyer, Cody McMillen, Emily Bebermeyer, Robert Jost.

Coach’s Awards: Caleb Barkman, Melanie Sullivan.

Most Valuable Volunteer: Candace Barkman, Robert Jost.

Quality-Control Specialists: Danielle Hagen, Jared King, Matthew Brown, Courtney Fast, Tyrell Thiessen.

More from article archives
Marion board cuts staff, may alter two sports
ORIGINALLY WRITTEN DONNA HAJEK >About 30 onlookers-primarily Marion teachers-were on hand at...
Read More