Ten Trojans receive league recognition in baseball, softball

Ten Hillsboro Trojans received all-league recognition from the baseball and softball coaches of the Mid-Central Activities Association last week.

Six members of the 17-6 Trojan baseball team were recognized. Three were selected for the first team and three for honorable mention.

Heading the first-team list was catcher James Bina, who received honorable mention as a freshman and was named to the first team as a sophomore and junior.

Bina capped his HHS career with an outstanding senior season. In addition to his dependable play behind the plate, Bina led the team in most offensive categories, including batting (.531), runs batted in (36), home runs (12), on-base percentage (.663) and slugging percentage (1.250).

Also returning to the first-team list from a year ago was pitcher Jerod Metcalf, who finished this season with a 6-5 record and an earned-run average of 3.01. The senior threw 72 innings for Hillsboro, recording 50 strikeouts while walking only eight.

Also named to the MCAA first-team was designated-hitter Graham Ratzlaff, who established all-league credentials in his senior season by hitting .417 with 34 runs batted in and six home runs. He had a slugging percentage of .819 and an on-base percentage of .494.

The three Trojans who received honorable were all seniors as well.

Dustin Jost, a first-team pick last season as a utility player, received honorable mention this season at shortstop. Jost had a fielding percentage of .933 with only seven errors.

At the plate, he batted .364, with 32 hits, eight home runs and 19 runs batted in. He had a slugging percentage of .739 and an on-base percentage of .402.

Shawn Hughbanks received honorable mention at third base, where he had a fielding percentage of .932 with five errors.

At the plate, Hughbanks hit .367 with 29 hits, one home run and 24 runs batted in. His on-base percentage was .451 and his slugging percentage was .544.

The third Trojan to receive honorable mention was Steven Chisholm, who was feted for his accomplishments in his first season as a varsity pitcher.

The 6-4 right-hander, used primarily in relief, finished with a 4-0 record and an ERA of 4.20. In 30 innings, Chisholm gave up 29 hits, walked 20 and struck out 30.


One Trojan was named to the MCAA softball first-team and three received honorable mention.

April Funk, one of two seniors on this year’s 13-10 squad, was picked as a first-team outfielder. Funk, an infielder last season, batted .313 for the Trojans, with 20 hits and nine runs batted in.

On the list of honorable-mention picks was junior Danielle Goossen at third base. Goossen, an honorable-mention selection in 2002, batted .324 with 24 hits and seven runs batted in.

Also receiving honorable mention were a pair of sophomores, Amy Duerksen at shortstop and Emily Ratzlaff at catcher.

Duerksen had a fielding percentage of .817 with 15 errors and batted .262 with nine TBIs.

Ratzlaff finished with a fielding percentage of .667 and hit .300 with six runs batted.

MCAA All-League 2003


Catcher: James Bina, sr., Hillsboro. Honorable mention: Jake Schroeder, sr., Haven; Ross Ballard, so., Nickerson.

First base: Tyson Bauerle, sr., Nickerson. Honorable mention: Will Godfrey, sr., Lyons.

Second base: Andy Meyer, sr., Haven. Honorable mention: Nick Troilo, so., Wichita Collegiate; Jarrett Bauerle, so., Nickerson; Tim George, jr., Smoky Valley.

Third base: Jeremy Kocher, sr., Haven. Honorable mention: Shawn Hughbanks, sr., Hillsboro; Brandon Meyers, jr., Nickerson; Lance Sawyer, sr., Inman; Chantry George, jr., Smoky Valley.

Shortstop: Noah Kroll, sr., Nickerson. Honorable mention: Dustin Jost, sr., Hillsboro; Jess Cornejo, so., Wichita Collegiate.

Outfield: Zach Troilo, sr., Wichita Collegiate; Andy Dirks, jr., Haven; Jason Clifford, jr., Nickerson; Tanner Corwin, sr., Smoky Valley. Honorable mention: Jarin Berger, sr., Nickerson; Brian Heckel, sr., Lyons; Clint Bieberle, fr., Lyons; Travis Achilles, sr., Inman; Joe Fahrbach, sr., Haven.

Pitcher: Noah Krol, sr., Nickerson; J.C. Bredengerd, so., Wichita Collegiate; Tyson Bauerle, sr., Nickerson; Jerod Metcalf, sr., Hillsboro. Honorable mention: Andy Meyer, sr., Haven; Mitchell Shepard, jr., Haven; Andy Dirks, jr., Haven; Matt Meyer, so., Haven; Tim George, jr., Smoky Valley; Matt Benoche, jr., Moundridge; Matt Thiesen, jr., Moundridge; Anthony Martinez, jr., Lyons; Steven Chisholm, sr., Hillsboro.

Designated hitter: Graham Ratzlaff, sr., Hillsboro. Honorable mention: Heath Gerstner, sr., Nickerson.

Utility player: Brice Soeken, sr., Lyons. Honorable mention: Kevin Amos, so., Wichita Collegiate; Zack Coon, sr., Nickerson; Travis Schafer, jr., Canton-Galva.


(* indicates unanimous selection)

Catcher: Cana Wilson, so., Wichita Collegiate. Honorable mention: Megan Ashens, so., Nickerson; Emily Ratzlaff, so., Hillsboro; Tommie Redd, sr., Haven; Jennifer Sherwood, sr., Smoky Valley; Heidi Schowalter, fr., Lyons; Sara Cossman, jr., Inman.

First base: Missy Pifer, sr., Nickerson. Honorable mention: Sarah Bartley, sr., Haven; Ciara Storm, jr., Wichita Collegiate.

Second base: Geena Cubbage, sr., Hesston. Honorable mention: Holly Messamore, so., Wichita Collegiate; Jaimie Borntrager, jr., Haven.

Third base: Kaede Rife, sr., Inman. Honorable mention: Sarah Burch, so., Wichita Collegiate; Danielle Goossen, jr., Hillsboro; Audra Christophel, jr., Hesston.

Shortstop: Mendy Gustus, sr., Smoky Valley. Honorable mention: Jessica Blake, sr., Haven; Cassidy Birch, sr., Hesston; Andrea Leiker, so., Lyons; Amy Duerksen, so., Hillsboro.

Outfield: *Julie Ruggiero, sr., Smoky Valley; April Funk, sr., Hillsboro; Laicole Walker, fr., Wichita Collegiate; Katie Schmidt, sr., Haven. Honorable mention: Jenna Knackstedt, sr., Inman; Aimee Dobbins, sr., Lyons; Tonya Steffan, jr., Lyons; Tara Robinson, sr., Nickerson; Ashley Engelland, so., Nickerson; Catherine Nellans, jr., Haven; Lyndsy Edwards, sr., Smoky Valley.

Pitcher: *Rachel Wenger, sr., Wichita Collegiate; *Michell Turner, sr., Haven; *Danyel McGaughey, sr., Smoky Valley; Mallory Santee, so., Inman. Honorable mention: Tiffany Taylor, so., Lyons.

Designated hitter: Natalie Wheeler, so., Hesston. Honorable mention: Mandy Nordyke, fr., Wichita Collegiate.

Utility player: Sara Washburn, jr., Hesston; Honorable mention: Nicole Sisson, sr., Inman; Christina Jordan, jr., Haven; Lindsay Herrell, so., Nickerson.

More from article archives
HHS runners slip past tough field to qualify for state
ORIGINALLY WRITTEN DON RATZLAFF Just as Hillsboro coach Brian Kennell predicted, the...
Read More