Eight Trojans selected for All-MCAA football

Eight Hillsboro Trojans filled 16 spots on the Mid Division roster of the Mid-Central Activities Association all-league football team for 2002.

Caleb Marsh, in his first season in a Trojan uniform, was a first-team pick at three positions-wide receiver, defensive back and return specialist-and received honorable mention at kicker and punter.

The versatile 5-11, 165-pound junior, was a unanimous choice of coaches as a defensive back and return specialist.

Two Trojans were unanimous picks on both sides of the ball. James Bina, a 5-11, 180-pound senior, was chosen at offensive and defensive line, and Graham Ratzlaff, a 6-0, 205-pound senior, was selected for the offensive line and as a linebacker.

Other first-team selections for Hillsboro were seniors Alan Yoder (5-8, 171) and Dustin Jost (5-10, 160), who were unanimous choices as offensive backs. Yoder also received honorable-mention as a defensive back.

Other Trojans receiving honorable mention were Shawn Hughbanks, a 6-1, 170-pound senior, at wide receiver; Dustin Hendricks, a 5-11, 193-pound senior, at defensive line; Brian Thiessen, a 5-11, 211-pound junior, at offensive line; and Kyle Jilka, 6-0, 180-pound junior, at linebacker.

The Trojans finished the season with a 6-5 record and tied for the Mid Division title with Ellinwood at 3-1.

Central Division all-league picks had not been made available at press time.

MCAA football all-league

Mid Division

First-team offense (*Unanimous)

Linemen: *Will Godfrey, Lyons.; *James Bina, Hillsboro; *Graham Ratzlaff, Hillsboro; *Andy Fulton, Sterling; *Nathan Rose, Ellinwood. Tight end: *Ryan McKay, Halstead. Backs: *Alan Yoder, Hillsboro; *Dallas Schnurr, Sterling; *Dustin Jost, Hillsboro; *Cody Engle, Ellinwood. Receivers: *Drew Connell, Ellinwood; Caleb Marsh, Hillsboro. Kicker: Cody Engle, Ellinwood.

First-team defense

Linemen: *Joey Smith, Lyons; *James Bina, Hillsboro; *Chris Padget, Sterling; *Nathan Rose, Ellinwood. Linebackers: *Graham Ratzlaff, Hillsboro; *Travis Cook, Sterling; Taylor Hilburn, Halstead; *Corey Long, Ellinwood. Backs: *Caleb Marsh, Hillsboro; Drew Connell, Ellinwood; Cody Engle, Ellinwood. Punter: Cody Engle, Ellinwood. Return specialist: *Caleb Marsh, Hillsboro.

Honorable-mention offense

Linemen: Scott Wolfe, Sterling; Corey Long, Ellinwood; Omar Hasan, Halstead; Brian Thiessen, Hillsboro. Tight end: Kevin Loudermilk, Sterling. Backs: Brian Heckel, Lyons; Travis Cook, Sterling. Receivers: Shawn Hughbanks, Hillsboro; Troy Reade, Ellinwood; Ryan Isern, Ellinwood. Kicker: Caleb Marsh, Hillsboro.

Honorable-mention defense

Linemen: Dustin Hendricks, Hillsboro; Will Godfrey, Lyons; Brice Soeken, Lyons. Linebackers: Kyle Jilka, Hillsboro; Kevin Loudermilk, Sterling; Andy Fulton, Sterling; Josh McCormick, Elllinwood. Backs: Alan Yoder, Hillsboro; Wade Church, Lyons; Dallas Schnurr, Sterling. Punter: Caleb Marsh, Hillsboro.

More from article archives
BOATING & FISHING: Marion Reservoir offers choices for enjoying outdoors
ORIGINALLY WRITTEN STAFF Fishing, hunting, hiking, camping, wind surfing, boating, swimming, sun...
Read More