Seven Trojans are All-MCAA selections

Seven Hillsboro Trojans-four boys and three girls-received all-league honors from the Mid-Central Activities Association last week.

Three Hillsboro boys-Tyler Weinbrenner, Layne Frick and Andy Brubacher-were named to the MCAA first team while Adam Woods received honorable mention.

Frick and Woods are seniors,and Weinbrenner and Brubacher are juniors.

For the girls, seniors Shannon Kroeker and Jill Hein were picked for the first team, and classmate Amber Hefley received honorable mention.

Over the weekend, the Wichita Eagle named Kroeker to its Class 3A second team and Hein for honorable mention. The Eagle picked Weinbrenner for boys’ honorable mention.

2002 ALL-MCAA Selections


First team: Brandt Pyle, sr., Halstead; Brad Gattis, sr., Hesston; Tyler Weinbrenner, jr., Hillsboro; Rob Arneson, sr., Nickerson; Chris Preboth, sr., Wichita Collegiate; Ron Horton, jr., Wichita Collegiate; Nathan Robinson, jr., Ellinwood; Layne Frick, sr., Hillsboro; Andy Brubacher, jr., Hillsboro; Brandon Krinhop, jr., Smoky Valley; Dustin Galyon, sr., Sterling; Dallas Schnurr, so., Sterling.

Honorable mention: Sean Kennedy, jr., Wichita Collegiate; David Waite, sr., Ellinwood; Andy Wesner, sr., Ellinwood; Jordan Regehr, so., Halstead; Jacob Farmer, jr., Halstead; Kent Pearce, sr., Haven; Ricky Snyder, jr., Haven; Andy Meyer, fr., Haven; Cole Esau, sr., Hesston; Taylor Dunham, jr., Hesston; Adam Woods, sr., Hillsboro; Tod Sechrist, sr., Lyons; Zach Dobbins, sr., Lyons: Noah Kral, fr., Nickerson; Darrin Hopp, sr., Smoky Valley; Keith Ferguson, sr., Smoky Valley; Kenny Carlson, sr., Smoky Valley; Derek Schneider, sr., Sterling.


First team: Keri Wise, jr., Ellinwood; Lindsey Miles, jr., Halstead; Allison Goff, jr., Haven; Liz Sowers, so., Hesston; Shannon Kroeker, sr., Hillsboro; Jenny Washburn sr., Hesston; Jill Hein, sr., Hillsboro; Sierra Racks, so., Lyons; Andrea Leiker, fr., Lyons; Rochelle Patton, sr., Nickerson; Jenny Sherwood, jr., Smoky Valley; Janie Anthony, sr., Sterling.

Honorable mention: Kate Schaake, fr., Wichita Collegiate; Jacque Koepsel, jr., Wichita Collegiate; Jackie Brown, jr., Wichita Collegiate; Megan Thomas, jr., Ellinwood; Missy Egley, sr., Halstead; Hillary Stuky, fr., Haven; Laura Gibson, sr., Haven; Katrina Brodhagen, sr., Hesston; Anna Gunden, sr., Hesston; Sara Washburn, so., Hesston; Amber Hefley, sr., Hillsboro; Andria Stegman, jr., Lyons; Becky Crawmer, sr., Nickerson; Shannon Swofford, fr., Nickerson; Jade Pihl, fr., Smoky Valley; Lacey Scott, sr., Smoky Valley; Nicolle Galyon, sr.. Sterling; Courtney Goad, so., Sterling; Lydia Smith, jr, Sterling.

More from article archives
Lagniappe is downsizing, moving across the street
ORIGINALLY WRITTEN CYNTHIA MARTENS One year after opening Lagniappe (A Little Extra)...
Read More