Tough legal penalties await DUI holiday celebrants

ORIGINALLY WRITTEN CYNTHIA MARTENS
The following DUI penalties are listed on the Kansas Department of Transportation Web site:



–?First DUI offense-The offenders will receive 48 hours of mandatory imprisonment or 100 hours of community service and must complete a mandatory program for alcohol and drug-abuse treatment.



In addition, they will be fined $500 to $1,000 plus court cost. Their driving privileges will be suspended for 30 days, then restricted for an additional 330 days.



— Second DUI offense-The offenders will receive 90 days to one year of imprisonment and will be fined $1,000 to $1,500 plus court cost and fees.



Their driving privileges will be suspended for one year. Those privileges will remain suspended until a mandatory alcohol and drug abuse program is completed.



After a one-year suspension of driving privileges is completed, the offender is restricted to driving only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition-interlock device for one year. This mechanism makes it impossible for anyone who is intoxicated to start the motor vehicle.



— Third DUI offense-The offenders will be charged with a felony offense, receive 90 days to one year imprisonment and fined $1,500 to $2,500 plus court costs.



Their driving privileges will be suspended for one year, and they must complete a mandatory alcohol and drug-abuse program.



Following the completion of the suspension, they will be restricted to driving only motor vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device.



— Fourth DUI offense-The offenders will be charged with a felony, will do 90 days to one year in jail and be fined $2,500 plus court costs and evaluation fees.



Their driving privileges will be suspended for one year and remain suspended until a mandatory alcohol and drug abuse program is completed. After one-year suspension of driving privileges is completed, they will be restricted to driving only motor vehicles equipped with an ignition-interlock device.



— Fifth and subsequent DUI offenses-The offenders will be charged with a felony, will do 90 days to one year in jail and be fined $2,500 plus court costs and evaluation fees.



Their driving privileges will be permanently revoked if there are five or more occurrences within a five-year period.



At the end of the incarceration/work release program, They will be placed in the custody of the Secretary of the Kansas Department of Corrections. They will then be required to complete a mandatory drug and alcohol abuse program. Upon completion of the mandatory treatment program, they will remain in the custody of the Secretary of Corrections and will be placed on a one-year period of post-release supervision.



— DUI with child under 14-Any person convicted of a DUI who has a child under 14 years as a passenger shall have the person’s punishment enhanced by one month of imprisonment.

More from article archives
Brandt’s quilt artistry raises money for world relief
ORIGINALLY WRITTEN DON RATZLAFF Sometimes art has a power that extends beyond...
Read More