Organizational night marks official start of first Leo Club

History was made in Hillsboro Saturday when the first Leo Club in Hillsboro and in Lions District K-6 was officially chartered.

The organizational banquet was held at the United Methodist Church. Twenty-one young people, 7th- to 11th-graders, were inducted as charter members of the Hillsboro Leo Club, sponsored by the Hillsboro Evening and Noon Lions clubs.

As part of their initiation ceremony the Leo’s dedicated themselves to serve their community just as other Leos worldwide are doing.

Mayor Delores Dalke was on hand to welcome the crowd of 100 Leos, parents, Lions and guests from around the state. Featured speaker, Lions International Board Director Ed McCormick of Wichita, challenged the club to continue in the pattern of service to others they have already begun.

State Leo chairman, Tom Cooney of Morganville, led the induction ceremony and presented the club organizational certificate to Leo president Danielle Kelley, who responded in behalf of the club.

Each Leo was called forward to sign the certificate. Past International Lions President William Wunder, Wichita, and McCormick presented a Leo pin and individual certificate to each Leo.

Lion District K-6 Governor Don King, Waterville, installed the officers and reviewed their responsibilities. Officers are Danielle Kelley, president; Danielle Johnson, vice president; Katie Fast, secretary-treasurer; and board members Amelia Brandt, Rebecca Brooks and Jocelyn Kliewer.

Advisors of the club are Tonja Wienck, Jared Jost and Marvin and Elfrieda Funk.

Katie Fast presented a $60 check from the Leo Club to Hillsboro Evening Lions president Oliver Unruh to be used for their smoke alarm project.

Various individuals and Lions Clubs attending presented gifts to the Leo Club.

The Leo Club welcomes other youth ages 12-17 to make application to join the club. Those interested can contact the officers or any of the following members: Michael Bookless, Kaleb Borg, Jacob Daniels, Audrey Ediger, Jared Fish, Jason Funk, Kylee Gustaffson, Karen Hueback, Stephanie King, Meredith Kliewer, Anna Krich, Tyler Krich, Allison Kunkel or Carissa Schultz.

More from article archives
ORIGINALLY WRITTEN SHELLEY PLETT “The act of writing is an act of...
Read More