RWD #4 recognized by state association

Rural Water District #4, Marion County, was named ?Most Improved System of the Year? by the Kansas Rural Water Association at its 33rd annual conference and exhibition March 28-30.

The system has recently completed major improvements, including increased storage and the installation of additional lines to improve service to existing customers and to provide water to more than 100 new customers.

In light of recent interest rate increases and escalating material costs, swift action by this system saved local customers in southwest Marion County a significant amount of money.

A special recognition award was presented to Maurice Meirowsky, Peabody. Meirowsky served as president of the Kansas Rural Water Finance Authority since its creation in 1988 and on the board of Harvey County RWD #1 for many years.

The City of Marion also was recognized, receiving third place in the Consumer Confidence Report competition for cities under 3,000 population.

The conference, attended by more than 2,050 operators, bookkeepers, clerks and board and council members, was organized and sponsored by the Kansas Rural Water Association. Membership includes 300 rural water districts and 370 cities. David Mueller, Tampa, was re-elected as president.

More from article archives
Drought-ravaged crops could make good source for forage hay
ORIGINALLY WRITTEN RICKEY ROBERTS Even with our recent weekend rain, the drought...
Read More