Seven baseball players picked for 8 positions

Seven members of Hillsboro High School’s state-qualifying baseball team received all-league recognition at eight positions from the Central Kansas League coaches.

Three Trojans were named to the first team: Dylan Delk as a pitcher, Aaron Bina at catcher and Ben Gardner at third base. All three are seniors.

Picked for the second team were Kale Arnold at pitcher, Luke Moore at pitcher and outfield; Derek Kelsey at outfield and Lucas Sinclair as a utility player.

Moore and Kelsey are juniors, Arnold and Sinclair are sophbomores.

The Trojans finished the season with a 13-6 record, losing in the first round of the Class 3A tournament at Manhattan.

Pratt, who claimed the first CKL team championship, had players named to six positions on the first team and four positions on the second team.


2011 CKL All-League Baseball

First team

Pitcher: Quintin Crandall, jr., Nickerson; B.J. Dean, jr., Pratt; Dylan Delk, sr., Hillsboro; Trey Johnson, jr., Kingman.

Catcher: Aaron Bina, sr., Hillsboro.

First base: Travis Calvin, sr., Halstead.

Second base: Austin Barnard, sr., Pratt; Gentry Heimerman, sr., Halstead

Shortstop: B.J. Dean, jr., Pratt.

Third base: Ben Gardner, sr., Hillsboro.

Outfield: Keenan Brean, so., Smoky Valley; Skyler Dean, so., Pratt; Garrett John­son, sr., Lyons; Collin Rupp, sr. Halstead.

Utility: Easting Herring, so., Pratt; Trey Johnson, jr., Kingman.

Designated hitter: Jake Siroky, sr., Pratt.

Second team

Pitcher: Kale Arnold, so., Hillsboro; Keenan Breen, so., Smoky Valley; Jesus Diaz, sr., Lyons; Justin Gillmore, sr., Pratt; Luke Moore, jr., Hillsboro. Drew Pjesky, jr., Halstead.

Catcher: Jake Siroky, sr., Pratt.

First base: Justin Gillmore, sr., Pratt.

Second base: Raymond Dauer, sr., Smoky Valley.

Shortstop: Mikabe Erdman, jr., King­man.

Third base: Easton Herring, so., Pratt.

Outfield: Derek Kelsey, jr., Hillsboro; Matt McGee, jr., Halstead; Luke Moore, jr., Hillsboro; Trae Regier, so., Haven.

Utility: Lucas Sinclair, so., Hillsboro.

Designated hitter: Austin Massey, so., Kingman.

Honorable mention

Catcher: Will Cousins, jr., Kingman; Zach Hendrixson, so., Haven.

First base: Dylan Miller, jr., Haven.

Second base: Jed Beachey, so., Haven.

Shortstop: Ryan McClure, fr., Lyons; Kevin Smith, so., Smoky Valley.

Third base: Jarod Neumayer, sr., Haven.

Outfield: Cooper Rowe, Wichita Collegiate; Nick Loesch, Lyons.

Utility: Kevin Bontrager, sr., Haven; Cole Brady, so., Lyons.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.