Written by Hillsboro Free Press Thursday, 05 July 2007 07:59The warning period is over. As of July 1, drivers cited for failure to move over for highway maintenance vehicles working along Kansas roadways will be fined.
Drivers who fail to comply with the updated move-over law passed by the 2006 Legislature face a fine of up to $90 plus court costs, according to the Kansas Department of Transportation.
Fines also took effect July 1 for a second law that prohibits drivers on two-lane roads from overtaking or passing another vehicle within 100 feet of maintenance and emergency vehicles.
The second law carries a fine of up to $180.
For the past year, violators of the laws, as they pertain to maintenance vehicles, were only issued warnings.
The move-over law requires motorists to slow down and move, if safe to do so, to the lane farthest from any stationary vehicle displaying flashing lights.
The 2006 upgrade of the law added maintenance vehicles to the existing law, which covered law enforcement and emergency first responders.
The law also requires motorists on two-lane roads to slow down and proceed with caution when passing a stationary vehicle displaying flashing lights.
Last year, 14 people were killed and 657 were injured in Kansas work zone crashes.
Kansas joins more than 30 states that have laws to protect public works crews and other roadside workers.